Working for better & safer Chattogram...   
 Chattogram Metropolitan Police
Exclusive Updates   জঙ্গী, মাদক ব্যবসায়ী, অস্ত্র ব্যবসায়ী, রাষ্ট্রবিরোধী চক্র সহ যে কোন অপরাধ সংক্রান্তে (যোগাযোগ করুণ-০৩১-৬৩৯০২২) তথ্য দিন। ভাড়াটিয়ার পরিচয় নিশ্চিত না হয়ে কেউ বাসা ভাড়া দিবেন না, বাসা ভাড়া দেওয়ার পূর্বে অবশ্যই ভাড়াটিয়ার নাম-ঠিকানা ও জাতীয় পরিচয় পত্র যাচাই করে ভাড়া দিবেন।

History of CMPAbout CMP CommissionerCMP OrganogramFormer CommissionerCMP Ordinance 1978CMP ServicesNew Initiatives

About Chittagong Metropolitan Police (CMP).

Our aim is to make the city safe for all and our mission is to work for a better and safer Chittagong.

Chittagong Metropolitan Police (CMP) came into being on 30 November, 1978. Mr. M.M Sharif Ali the first Commissioner. CMP started its course with 6 police stations along with 3238 forces in 1978. Population of Chittagong City stood to be less than 10, 00,000.

The Metropolitan area itself has increased in shape and size year after year. This increased population and area must of course, call for extended quality service. So modernization and improvement of CMP is a demand of time. This concept led to reshaping CMP in respect of force, size, modernization and organizational structure. The big step towards materializing this process is to establish 16 police stations instead of 6.

History of Chittagong  Metropolitan police

Chittagong  Metropolitan police (CMP) has started its journey on 30 November, 1978. CMP has started its initial journey with the area of 128 square mile & with its population of 10,00,000. Cmp is run by the Chittagong Metropolitan Police Ordinance, 1978.

Mr. M M Sharif Ali was the first  police Commissioner of CMP. At the initial stage, CMP started  its course with six police stations, thirty out posts and six police box only. Primarily CMP had two crime divisions namely North Division & Port Division, Headquarters Division, City Special Branch (City SB), and Traffic Division. Afterwards Detective Branch (DB) and Protection & Protocol division has started their journey.

In 1984, CMP has got the permission to employ 3238 police personnel`s  at different levels.

In 1988, a new division is established by CMP namely Riot Control Division (RCD) and CMP created 591 different posts for the police personnel`s.

In 2000, on the demanding of increase people, CMP has divided its six police stations into twelve. At present CMP has 16 police Stations, 31 outposts, 05 IC (Investigating Centre) and 6 police box.

Total employee of CMP is about 6,458.

CMP is run by:

●  1 Police Commissioner (DIG) with the help of
  ●  3 Addl. Police Commissioners
  ●  21 Deputy Police Commissioners
  ●  23 Addl. Deputy Police Commissioners &
  ●  16 Asstt. Police Commissioners.

Other Police personnel`s are

  ●  Inspector (UB) - 77,
  ●  Town & Traffic Inspector - 37
  ●  Inspector (AB) - 20
  ●  SI (UB) - 456
  ●  SI (AB) - 59
  ●  Sergeant - 163
  ●  TSI - 08
  ●  ATSI - 56
  ●  ASI (UB) - 525
  ●  ASI (AB) - 132
  ●  Naik - 171
  ● Constable - 4463
  ● Non-Police - 130
  ● Outsourcing - 97

There are 7 distinct divisions in CMP, Namely:-

  ● Headquarters Division
  ● Public Order Management Division.
  ● Crime & Operations Division. 
  ● Detective & Criminal Intelligence Division
  ● Traffic Division
  ● Protocol & Protection Division
  ● Media & public Relation Division.

In 1978, the people and police ratio was 1:276 & Now the ratio is 1:900. Due to the crisis of police personnel`s CMP has a proposal to increase the number of employees about 5155 & the proposal is under process.

Chittagong  Metropolitan police is always ready to meet up the demand of the citizens and is working for the better & safer Chittagong to Live & Work.

  Copyright � 2013 Chattogram Metropolitan Police| Today: 298 | Total: 2083559 Developed & Sponsored By sMs Software (BD), INt.